Tokyo: A Photogenic Mix of Old & New

It is no surprise that Tokyo is one of the most interesting places a person can visit. The iconic locations and absurd activities are endless, and I had to accept before I left that I was not going to be able get though every location and activity on my list. My biggest hobby is photography, so throughout my courses on the Japanese Group Study Program, my priority was to go explore and take pictures. I spent months preparing and researching for the photography on this trip; which involved much deliberation over how much gear I needed, versus how light I needed my backpack to be. When I finally arrived in Japan, the photographic experience I had was a lot different from what I thought it was going to be.

1(Kawasaki) My first night wandering around Kawasaki was better than I imagined. 

Once my group had settled at our dorm, some of us decided to go explore a bit and find one of the famed Japanese convenience stores (we were not disappointed). After buying a nice $5 umbrella and a snack it was time to break out the camera. Everywhere I looked there was great street photography, and if I was not traveling with a group of people I could have easily gotten lost taking pictures up some random alleyway. Eventually I forced myself to slow down because, after all, I still had another 19 days and many other iconic locations to photograph.

Throughout my trip, the thing that struck me most about Tokyo and the surrounding area was the mix of traditional and modern. It is hard for me to pick my favorite spots for photos that I went, but the two that I often bring up are Asakusa and Shinjuku. Most of my top photos are from these two locations, and they all illustrate to me the juxtaposition of old and new that can be seen throughout Tokyo.

2(Asakusa) The vintage aesthetic of the street contrasts well with the impressive Skytree in the distance.

When I arrived at Asakusa, it was mid-day, and the area was very crowded with tourists. This made movement and photography a little difficult, but the struggle was worth it because the temple located at the end of a long vendor strip is a magnificent site to behold. Eventually I took a break to sit down and have some food, and by the time I was ready to go back out and shoot it was just about time for the sun to set; with the sky taking on new colours.

3(Asakusa) Sensoji temple felt very impressive being nestled in between many small shops and apartments.

Shinjuku is one of those areas that looks like the iconic Tokyo you see in anime and movies. I ended up going to Shinjuku three times over my twenty-day trip; the final trip was towards the end of my stay, and I was alone so that I could make sure to release the last of my photographic energies before returning home.

4(Shinjuku) A three-minute walk away from the alleyway shows the bustling metropolis that Tokyo is known for.

Overall, I was surprised at how comfortable I felt while taking photos in Tokyo. I was mostly ignored by the people on the streets, probably because the locals are already used to large numbers of tourists with cameras. At the large tourist spots, it felt like more people were carrying around higher-end cameras rather than using smartphones for their photography, which helped me relax and take better photographs. Japan has a rich history with photography; with most camera manufacturers being Japanese companies (Canon, Nikon, Panasonic, Sony, etc.); It felt right to be wandering the streets with my Japanese camera.

5(Shinjuku) This alleyway hidden in the large shopping district has been purposefully maintained to feel like 1960s Tokyo.

Submitted by Liam McConnell

Leave a comment